News From the Swamp: Senate Fails to Pass Limitations on EPA

The Senate took up the EPA Resolution of Disapproval introduced by Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) this week, but it failed to pass Thursday night, 47-53. Six Democrats voted with Republicans: Evan Bayh (IN), Mary Landrieu (LA), Blanche Lincoln (AR), Ben Nelson (NE), Mark Pryor (AR) and Jay Rockefeller (WV). The resolution would have blocked the EPA from implementing cap-n-tax restrictions by bureaucratic fiat, thus retaining that power for Congress. Under the Congressional Review Act that was part of the "Contract with America," Congress has the authority to veto any "major rule" by a regulatory agency within 60 days of its passage. Murkowski's fellow Alaska senator, Mark Begich, a Democrat, opposed the measure because the EPA's regulations put pressure on the Senate to pass cap-n-tax. "The danger if Murkowski were to become law," said Sen. Mark Udall (D-CO), "is that there isn't the immediate incentive to put a price on carbon." The White House, knowing that great power was at stake, threatened to veto the resolution.

Earlier this year, Obama's hard-left EPA Administrator Lisa Jackson declared carbon dioxide, which is required for all life on earth, a pollutant subject to their regulation. Of course, it did this based on junk science from the UN's Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change. The EPA can therefore use its regulatory authority to intrude upon every area of our lives in implementing cap-n-tax restrictions -- all without the vote of our elected representatives, who by defeating this measure abdicated their own constitutional authority. The regulations will go into effect in January. More: